Seldom Heard
If didn’t know good music….Now you know!

Ledisi

ledisi.jpgOkay…I’ve been biggin her up, providing links to her website and and video perforamances, but I haven’t really said anything about her. Well…I guess that’s because I don’t really know what to say, how to say it and honestly, there are no words to describe this sensational artist. As many of you know, I am a HUGE Ledisi fan. I’ve traveled hundreds of miles, for one night to see her perform. While living in NY, I’d never miss a SOB (Sounds of Brazil) performance or any other venue in NY for that fact. There is nothing she can do wrong in my world or in my eyes. This young lady does it for me in so many different ways. Now while I admit, the latest project, “Lost and Found” is not what I’m used to in a Ledisi record, but I understand the mainstream effort. Look…she’s been out there for ages, pushing and tryin’ to make things happen. She’s been singing her heart out and giving us the best possible funk, jazz, soul, R&B in this here world. But like many great artist, she hasn’t received mainstream recognition. I intend to change that, one blog post at a time. HOW GREAT IS SHE? Go cop “Feeling Orange, but Sometimes Blue,” if you can find it or “Soul Singer,” if you can find that. Then you’ll promptly understand what I’m trying to convey. However, since the aforementioned projects where not massively supported, a sistah had to do what she had to do. Her latest project is her first venture on a major label, Verve records. For those not familiar with Verve records, they only promote “quality” jazz/soul artists. Now while I can’t really tell you that “Lost and Found” is solely a jazz project, I can tell you that Ledisi is a Jazzy SOUL SINGER, parallel to none!!!!!!! her very being is soulful, thus making the music extremely poignant. If you hear she’s perfoming in a venue you can get to, GO SEE HER! BUY HER MUSIC! SUPPORT A SISTAH! but more than that, support good music. LEDISI IS GOOD MUSIC!

No Responses to “Ledisi”

Leave a Reply

